Hello Ruby Interview

20130917-113728.jpg

Spotlight Interview * originally published by Ocean View Press in
December 2004
Hello Ruby
by Rob Watts

In keeping up with the whole color theme this month, I had the pleasure of interviewing 4 talented young musicians from England called Hello Ruby. These young ladies really seem to have their heads into what they are doing and I have a feeling that we will be seeing and hearing great things from them soon. All 4 girls play their own instruments. WOW, what a concept huh, actually playing your own instruments and actually singing. If only more groups could follow the same pattern. In the meantime, check out what these ladies have to say. They did a great job so please return the favor by visiting their website and listening to their MP3’s. Til next time, Merry Christmas!!

Rob- First of all, how are you doing today?

We’re all doing GREAT!

Rob- Can you introduce yourself to the readers? What instruments do you play?

Hellooo there, I’m Vix and I play the guitar and throat (in other words I sing my heart out)!

Hey I’m LEX! I’m the drummer baby!

I’m Chanti, I play bass.

Hey I’m Sam, geeeeetar.

Rob- How old are you?

Chanti, Lex Sam – 15 (nearly 16), Vix – 14 (nearly 15)

Rob- Where are you from?

Surrey, England

Rob- Hello Ruby formed in April of 2004. How did the band members meet?

Lex and Chanti met Sam at school and then met Vix a couple years later on a random outing to the park (well… field)!

Rob- How long was it from the time the band formed until you played your first live show?

3 months

Rob- Can you describe how that show went? What were you feeling and what was going through your mind when you were up on stage for the first time as Hello Ruby?

Vix – So scared about what people would think of us, but then I didn’t really care and I had a blast. People liked us, so it gave me a happiness high.

Lex – I was so nervous, but as soon as I walked out I had the biggest smile on my face. I loved every second of it and just went crazy (I broke a drumstick)! Couldn’t have done it without my friends, thank you guys!

Chanti – Really excited, but also nervous. We we were playing the crowd were amazing and the time went really quickly. I didn’t want to get off stage.

Sam – When I went out on stage, I was so shocked to hear the response from the crowd (the crazyness). I really loved playing to everyone.

Rob- Who writes the songs? Is it one person in the band or does everyone collaborate?

We all chip in ideas and then put it all together, so all of us.

Rob- What is the music scene like in Surrey?

Lots of decent local bands, including All Forgotten, Minus 8, Three Days Away, Misterhall and more..

Rob- I enjoyed the 3 songs I heard so far, She, Driven to the edge and Fallen. You are currently working on some new songs. When do you think your fans will get to hear them?

Well we’ve played the songs on stage, but we have new songs people haven’t heard at all. We’re hoping to record another live e.p. soon, with all new songs!

Rob- The song “Fallen” is a 9-11 tribute. I think it’s a beautiful song and as an American, I’d like to say thank you. When did you write that song and what was going through your mind when you wrote it?

Lex and Vix wrote the song together and it was the band’s idea to tribute it. We actually recorded the song on the 12th of September, so they were in our thoughts. When we wrote the lyrics we could not even imagine what was going through their minds, but tried to capture it in the song.

Rob- Is it true that you performed a live Punk version of Britney’s “Hit me baby one more time”?

OH YEAH!! It was a lot of fun, we’ll still play it at shows if people want us to. It got the crowd singing!

Rob- What bands are you a fan of these days?

Vix – Yellow card, Billy Talent, Guns ‘n’ Roses, Blink, Sum 41, Alkaline Trio, Mcfly (an acceptable obsession)

Chanti – Alkaline Trio, Blink, Sum 41, Tsunami Bomb, Tuuli

Sam – Alkaline Trio, Sum 41, Blink, Rufio

Lex – Rufio, Thrice, Story Of The Year, Tsunami Bomb, Tuuli, Blink, Alkaline Trio

Rob- What do you do for fun when not working or playing music?

Surfing (when we go to Cornwall/Wittering), skateboarding, drawing, chilling with friends, shopping and going to local gigs, to support friends.

Rob- What advise do you have for young musicians?

Don’t give up on your dreams and don’t let jealousy bring you down.

Rob- Did you enjoy our interview?

Yes!! It was fun! Thank you. You’re a dude.

Rob- You’re too kind!! Any final words for the readers before we end this?

Keep checking the site for new pics, mp3s, shows. Take care and keep in touch!

20130917-113849.jpg

Leave a Reply

