Mount Eerie “Sauna” Album Review

IMG_4506.JPG

Mount Eerie
“Sauna”
Album Review by Rob Watts
@RobWattsOnline

I’ll admit, I’m very confused as to what this album is trying to be. Perhaps My Bloody Valentine meets Red House Painters? Between the splatters of distortion, the chorus girls and the ongoing droneology, I feel like I’m standing in the middle of an epic fantasy film which is being played out in front of my eyes. The title track “Sauna”, along with “This” and “Youth” are beautifully performed, however, the vocals throughout the album are (in my honest opinion) uninspiring and drowsy. Lyrically I’m not impressed. The Scandinavian ambiance, as well as the instrumentation as a whole, is beautifully done. This album might have benefited more by being simply a cool instrumental production.

Leave a Reply

